Suburban Sanctuary - Vancouver Island

My home is situated in a quiet suburban neighbourhood, in a small garden-level townhouse complex. Everyone who has stayed here has remarked on it feeling like a sanctuary. It`s very peaceful and quiet. I have large beautiful private garden, which is on a watering system, so no care is needed. I would require you to care for indoor plants, though I can hire someone to come in if you decide to go off touring. I am an artist and musician, so there are a number of creative amenities here for you to enjoy!

About the location

Victoria is the small capital city of the province of British Columbia, and lies on the southern-most tip of Vancouver Island, on the far west coast of Canada. The weather is the mildest year-round in Canada. Although we still have winter here, it`s not unusual to see flowers blooming. If it`s winter sports you`re after, Mount Washington is a day-trip from here, and I am told the skiing is excellent. Whistler Mountain, on the mainland, is only a day away as well.

There is much natural beauty in here, with abundant opportunities for activities such as hiking, kayaking, whale-watching, fishing, sailing, swimming, rock-climbing, ziplining, etc.

Victoria is said to be "more British than Britain", which is not true, but there are many expats here. We have a thriving cultural scene, with music of all types, lots of galleries, museums, cafes and restaurants, but if you crave the Big City, either Vancouver or Seattle are a short ferry ride away.

The townhouse is an easy 15 minute walk to shopping centres, and only a 30-45 minute hike through the forest to the top of nearby Mount Douglas. From home, you can hike to the top in 30 minutes, or take a more leisurely stoll around the park for hours. The University of Victoria is a five minute drive. Our historic downtown and Fishermans Wharf are only fifteen minutes away by car, or about half an hour on public transportation.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Long term exchange

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • No pets allowed
  • No small children

Victoria (HE27740)

British Columbia,   Canada

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 4) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • London
  • UK
  • Europe
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
London UK is my main interest. However, I`m also interested in Europe, Australia, New Zealand, South America, Japan. I can do a UK swap from 1-6 months; others up to 3 months.

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 1 - 2 months

Meet the member

Adults: 2     

Membership expiry date: 17 Oct 2020

Array ( [Currency] => USD [Country] => US )